Best Brand Of Fat Tires?

MilanMaldiniFan

Local time
9:05 AM
I'm new to the e bike world. I currently have a fat tire e bike. I was wondering what is the top brand for fat tire e bikes? The tires that came with my bike work great, just thinking once I wear these things out should I try and deck out my bike even more than it is. I ride on mostly city terrain, but a lot of hills. I live in San Francisco so the weather is usually dry.

No such thing as a top brand. There are good tires from reputable brands. Like the Maxxis Minion fatties, but those are not for any kind of city use. There are the various Vee fat tires, and they are good, but they wear fast. The Speedster is a good smooth street roller albeit a bit small. Surly Edna is a fast rolling knobbies made for them by Innova that are really tough and good for mixed pavement and gravel use. Same goes for the Chaoyang Big Daddy and its many clones. But quality is not consistent. The Origin8 Supercell is an excellent street tire so long as you buy the 30 tpi version and keep it pumped up to max psi, or it self-steers. Arisun Big Smoothy is a good street tire. Arisun is the Chaoyang North American brand label. And BTW The Origin8 tire is also made by Chaoyang for Origin8. Go look at the Chaoyang Sandstorm. Same tire different label.

Then there's the Duro tires... And Schwalbes but they are dirt only.

See where I'm going here? There is no best. Only alternatives each with plusses and minuses, and many of them are actually made by the same factory.