Bafang BBS02B 48 V 750 W with DM03 Display - Error 30 (and 40, 50, 54, 64, 68 :/)

mrverissimo

Local time
7:48 AM
Hi all!

I am new to the wonderfull world of DIY ebikes and excited to be part of this community! However, I am not posting today for a very good reason :/

2 weeks ago I have installed a Bafang BBS02B 48 V 750 W with DM03 Display on a brand new commuter bike I have bought specifically for this.
The installation went well, no troubles, and everything worked fine using PAS and throttle. Went well until this week.. only after a total of 40 km, during my 6th ride with the bike, suddenly the display started showing ERROR 30 and the motor stopped working having a kind of kick in and out behaviour. I started pedalling to reach home and the display showed other errors such as 54 and 68.

I have done some research and it seems ERROR 30 is related to some sort of communication problem. I have checked all the wires and connections and everything looks just as good as when I installed them (I was very careful with cable management when installing the kit).
As for ERRORS 54 and 68 I could not find any information. I wonder if this is related to the fact that DM03 display is new...

I tried to disconnect/connect all plugs, reset the display and so on, but the problem persisted. I did a test ride yesterday and the bike had just the same behaviour:
1. When I turn on the display the error 30 shows immediately.
2. I lifted the bike to check on a stand by position and both throttle and PAS speeds up the wheel.
3. I ride for a few meters and the motor seems like it wants to start, kicking in, but stops right after. It does that if I keep pedaling.
4. After that, errors 54 and 68 start to show up on the display.

Do you guys have some tips on how to tackle this issue?

Any help would be appreciated!
Regards