Total newbie, looking to buy ebike to effortlessly ascend steep hills.

Avzy

Local time
6:23 PM
Hi, all. I live in a very hilly area. I can go for miles, but absolutely HATE inclines, to where I will literally avoid routes with inclines, walking or cycling. I don't mind exercise, but it's the burn in the body when slogging up hills that is miserable for me.

I'm not that fit, and I don't want to have to pay tax and get insurance. I don't care that much about speed, as long as I can effortlessly ascend steep hills with very little, to no effort (even if that means slowing down, somewhat).

I'm 200 pounds. The highest wattage that is legal here is 250w continuous power (I don't believe there is a law that restricts peak power).

I've been looking everywhere, and for whatever reason, I can't search for bikes based on torque, peak power, etc.

What sort of bikes should I be looking at that are legal on the roads, relatively affordable (nothing over 1.5k [but if you must show me one with good stats, regardless of price, it might be helpful]), and something where my unfit ass won't break a sweat going up steep hills.

Also, where do I go to search for bikes based on stats? Every site I go to seems to only advertise their bikes with snazzy BS marketing names and not listing anything to do with motor power or torque, etc.

P.S. I am a total newbie. Please go easy on me.

Location/country would determine much of selection/suggestion that you may receive.

You should look for a mid-drive bike, as they use your bike's gearing to their advantage, so they have more torque per Watt of motor power that you can put down for steep hills.

250 W is enough with a mid drive, since your eBike speed limit is 15.5 mph (25 kph); try to keep the bike lightish.

The brands and such that are available locally on your side of the pond are different than what we have in the USA. What do your local shops stock?

Trek makes good bikes; are they an option in England?