Seeking suggestions for brake upgrade for Dolomite/BBSHD build

bluestrings

Local time
11:33 PM
What works for a Mongoose/BBSHD without paying more than what the bike cost? Two piston adequate? Cable w/ hydraulic calipers or full hydro?
Something compatible with brake sensor.

OK it looks like a choice between the Shimano BL-MT501/MT520 and Madura MT500 mid level hydraulics would be the most sensible for the Dolomite. With a 28.5 Ah battery pack and BBSHD the Dolomite is going to take on some weight. These sound like they'll have adequate stopping power. Probably ought to put on 180mm/203mm rotors.

Avid review looks good too. Just saw a full set for sale used $179 exclnt cond. Includes 185/203 rotors. No need to bleed but I'd probably have to swap longer lines due to ape hanger handle bars. That would be really convenient to pull the trigger and grab it. But I'm new to this and inclined ask if that would be reasonably safe way to go. Things are really adding up and an opportunity to save a few bucks here is tempting. Thoughts?

Magura MT5's are pretty much the best ebike brakes around. You can go crazy with say Hope brakes or something, so its possible to spend a lot more and get a little better stopping power.

Best option is the MT5 brakes and then buy the cheaper, and better, Tektro Type 17 2.3mm thick rotors. They were originally a niche product for downhill bikes but then Tektro realized they could call them ebike rotors and sell them by the shipload. MT5's normally use proprietary, thicker 2,0mm rotors and the 2.3's work, albeit just barely when the pads and rotors are both fresh/new.

The site says $39 each rotor but you can find them online for $25.