Is the old saying, you get what you pay for true in ebikes?

B

blakeman62

Is a bike that sells for $3250 better than a bike that sells for $1600? case and point Specialized Como 4.o IGH vs Aventon Pace 500.3
I realize these are 2 different systems, but I'm just wondering is one really that much better than the other one? Can someone please shed some light on this subject matter. I'm just a bit perplexed by the wide range of prices for ebikes. So many choices, so many things to think about in buying a new ebike. Anyone else feel this way.

I think a lot of the price of the ebike comes down to what specific components they put/use on the bike when its built.

I'm sure there is a million other reasons too.

I finally got sick of looking & just pulled the trigger. I bought a china bike & the company is trying to make a name for themselves.
So far it's been a great bike. More moped actually!

I do think some company's are price gouging, just because of their name.

I'm new to this ebike game as well & along for the ride.

I Have both an Aventon and a Specialized. Not the two you listed though.

Both bikes are built well. If you compared with one of the lesser names, now you have a difference. If you compared my two there's a huge difference with the Specialized being considerably lighter, very good suspension and very easy to upgrade down the road.

Support for both is good, quality is good. You can also buy something comparable or lower quality then the Aventon for 2X the cost. I believe for what you get Aventon has the market at that price and some that are higher priced. Theres also cheaper ones that may not last.

Out of the two you chose, I would go to the Aventon.
The differences are slight with the Aventon being less money. On the other hand if you wanted to easily upgrade parts, then do the specialized.