Battery tender

VANSLATE 13

Local time
8:24 AM
Newbie here to E-bikes, just wanted to ask if it is safe or a good idea to use a battery tender on my 48V 15ah battery to keep it charged while not being used, Thanks for any advice.

Do NOT USE A BATTERY TENDER ON YOUR EBIKE BATTERY !

1. Please understand to maximize the useful eBike battery life - the ONLY time you want to charge to a full 100% is when you know you will need that Full 100% for your next ride.

2. ALWAYS disconnect your Battery Charger after charging.

3. For "storage" (meaning long time till your next ride) NEVER store at more than 80%

4. In Cold Winter or High Summer Temperatuses remove the battery from the eBike and store inside.

4. In Cold Winter or High Summer Temperatuses remove the battery from the eBike and store inside.

I almost completely agree with what you wrote, but just to be very specific, lithium batteries suffer when stored at high temperatures, but contrary to what many people believe, and according to many sources, not at low temperatures. According to some source, storing SOME types of lithium batteries in a relatively cold environment (I mean, not liquid nitrogen...) can actually EXTEND their life.

However, they should NEVER be charged at low temperatures. And using them in the cold will cause a temporary loss of power and efficiency. But no permanent damage.

So, at the end of the day, as you wrote maybe easier to store them inside, and forget about all those complications.

I thought the same at one time. Coming from DIY auto mechanic, I didn't think twice I would keep the battery on the charger. But, as I got closer to buying a 48 volt eBike battery and read up on how to care for it, I found out the above offered info and more. This website appears to offer good overall info: From ElectrifyBike

No, it's not a good idea. fabbrisd told you the right things to do, but not why.