New Member Introduction from Central Massachussetts

Riding Fat

Local time
6:57 AM
Hello all.

Been lurking here for a few weeks to help understand what I would need to convert my Salsa Mukluk to an ebike.

I have been an avid cyclist for 20-30 years and ride at least once a week. I have multiple purely self-powered bikes at the moment. I am a product designer and mechanical engineer. I live in the rolling hills of central Massachusetts.

My goal for the bike is to be able to complete my 14mi commute to work with an effort equivalent to a 45min brisk walk. The ride back home I will apply more effort since I can shower when I get home. I am hoping to make riding to work and back easier to talk myself into for environmental reasons and to shed some weight.

The bike is a fat tire bike that is about 10 years old. The wheel size is 26" and the tires are 4" wide. I will be carrying my laptop, a change of clothes, 6 cups of coffee in a thermos, and my lunch in rear panniers. My total weight with gear and unmodified bike will be approx. 250lbs.

My commute will be over a mixture of secondary roads and back roads with speed limits that vary from 25 to 40mph. These roads are not terribly busy so drivers feel safe going 10mi/hr over the limit. Most of the roads have no shoulder but relatively good asphalt. My total accent to work will be 738 feet, and a decent of 834 feet. The worst grades will be two sections at a 6% grade that are about 1.5mi each. The good thing is that the descents on the other side of each hill are also at 6% for about a mile and a half. I would like to maintain a minimum speed of 25mi/hr over the entire route on the way to work. The ride home I can ride more leisurely but with increased effort. I can charge the battery at work if needed.

Based on my testing of available ebikes at local bike shops and what their hill climbing abilities seemed to be, I think I need the following: