need help understanding the matching of the battery to the wheel.

ScooterBronson

Local time
12:41 AM
Im looking at purchasing this E-wheel kit and I will need to get a battery for it The wheel is 26" 48 volt 2000 watt 20 ah fat front wheel kit. Now its my first time seeing 2000 watt, most I see say 1000 or 1500 watt. So is it deception or is it legit? And same for the battery, most say 1000-1500 watt but i did find a battery rated at 2000 watts. Is there a noticable difference between 1500-2000 watt. How would I go about testing them to confirm that they are as to what they are claimed? thanks, bronson

Sounds like a 48v battery with a 20 amp bms? 2000 watts doesn't tell us much, unless they mean 2000 watt hours. A 48v battery with 2000 what hours would be a really big battery of 41.66 amp hours.

Rating a motor at "1000 watts" simply means that it will take that amount of power without melting. For HOW LONG is a question which is answered by advertisers, not engineers. Often the identical motor will be rated at 1000, 1500, and 2000 watts, just not for the same amount of time. Check the weight. Sustaining more power generally requires more physical mass, in similar designs. More pounds of iron and copper will soak up more heat. Put an oil fill and external heat sinks on a "1000 watt motor", and you can safely run 3000 watts for short periods. More if you live in a cold climate.

For a battery, it is a much more accurate measurement, but something of a moving target. Batteries degrade over time and loose capacity. Batteries can supply a large amount of amps, for a short period, but usually this will degrade them faster. Drawing a lower amount of amps will result in a battery with a longer lifetime, also greater useful capacity for an individual charge cycle.