I messed up a custom ebike build please help.

JosephShotts

Local time
2:22 AM
I am building an ebike using these parts and a mountain bike: https://www.ebay.com/itm/364149505027, https://www.ebay.com/itm/175567304674?var=474907899771. I had stuff working and then made a terrible error. I have some experience with small scale electronics but this project is well out side of my normal scope. Any help or advice would be really apreciated.

I first dropped the battery during a test drive where the connector ripped out and it shorted. Then when I went to test the battery by plugging it into the bike I flipped the posative and negative terminals which cause a capacitor to blow up inside the battery case. The capictor was on a circuit board wired from the battery output terminals to an auxillary usb port pictured below. The BMS also wasn't working correctly after this mistake.

I replaced the BMS with https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09FTKN97L?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details, and got the battery to charge and show 54v at it's terminal.

The problem I need help with is connecting the controller to the hopefully fixed battery. I was getting a massive spark when I plugged it in so I did some looking around and tried to make a precharge circuit using this https://goldenmotor.com/SMF/index.php?topic=5874.0 and two 50Watt 6 Ohm resistors in series I already had.

This stopped the spark but I can't get anything to turn on when I connect the main power. The throttle and the display are the two main things that would. I did try a new speed controller as well but I bought one with differant connectors than the original. It did have similar issues though so I'm thinking that I'm doing something wrong with the connection between the speed controller and battery.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    189.8 KB · Views: 92
Links to eBay may include affiliate code. If you click on an eBay link and make a purchase, this forum may earn a small commission.