Possible eWhizzer build?

nightember444

Local time
4:44 PM
I've been refurbishing this old bicycle I have and wanted to either make it a motorized bike or an ebike that I could use to get to and from work, home, and school. I'd like to be able to get it up to if not close to public road speed limits with the highest being 55 mph in my area. I was also inspired by an On The Roam episode to make the bike look like it has the elements of a motorized bike by using a gas tank as storage for electrical components or for the battery. I would like to also mention that I'm very new to the powered bike scene whether it's a gas powered motor or an electric motor. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• 20230527_194423.jpg
    20230527_194423.jpg
    433.6 KB · Views: 12
I've been refurbishing this old bicycle I have and wanted to either make it a motorized bike or an ebike that I could use to get to and from work, home, and school. I'd like to be able to get it up to if not close to public road speed limits with the highest being 55 mph in my area. I was also inspired by an On The Roam episode to make the bike look like it has the elements of a motorized bike by using a gas tank as storage for electrical components or for the battery. I would like to also mention that I'm very new to the powered bike scene whether it's a gas powered motor or an electric motor. Any advice is greatly appreciated!
1st thing I want to say as being a motorbike nut. If you want to touch that 55mph line, you are going to need a good set of wheels built. Also do not skimp on the brakes.

good 4 stroke frame ...

55mph on a bicycle will be wild....be sure to wear a helmet :)

a 2000w hub motor with a 60v 40ah battery will get you to around 45mph but man your battery will need to be pretty big to support that kind of speeds....then there is alot more to deal with.

I'm not trying to talk you out of this but if you'd be happy with 30 to 35 MPH you could get a nice 1500w hub drive motor