Doing an Ebike Conversion

HillAversion

Local time
12:21 AM
I'm new to this. I'm scoping out an ebike conversion using a Specialized bike in my shed that's a few years old and in good shape. Any advice is welcome.

I'm currently thinking I'll go with a Bafang 750 watt mid-drive motor kit and a 52v battery. Maybe 12-15 AH. I don't expect to ride long distances, but there are some mean hills in the neighborhood. I don't aspire to ride 40 mph on a bicycle, but hills are another thing. I'm excited to do this because I live next door to a large nature preserve that's perfect for exploration by bike.

The YouTube videos make a conversion look easy, but you don't know what you're into until you're into it, and I'm not expecting it to be that easy. I know I'll need:
  • Motor (I'm looking at a kit on Amazon)
  • Controller
  • Display
  • Battery
  • Brake sensor
  • Gear change sensor
  • Bike tools, including torque wrench
  • Lots of patience
The business of measuring the bottom bracket is a little confusing to me. I'm not sure if I need to take it apart to measure. Also, I posted a battery question in the battery sub-forum. Any guidance, caveats, recommendations or free motors would be golden. ;)

Thanks.

So the 52v will get ya up some mean hills, to go farther in the saddle you'll need more than 12-15AH

I started with 20ah 52v batteries on a bbs02 750w then built a bbshd 1600w with 52v 30 and 35ah batteries.

It's nice to have the long ride times if needed.

Also if you get an eggrider display (eggrider.com or lunacycle.com) you will have the ability to tweak the controller settings to suit your
needs/wants on both bbshd and the 750w bafang kits. It helps tremendously.

I hope this helps ya somehow :)

HP

I had the 750w bbs02 on a specialized sirrus road bike and that was 68mm bottom bracket.

Thanks for the welcome and for the input.

I don't expect to do super long rides. I imagine 10-12 miles with a single hill will be about my limit.