Troubleshooting a ebike problem?

DieselTech

Local time
6:19 PM
Ok guys & gals, I'm new to this ebike game, & my ebike developed a 05 brake code error. I'm a certified auto/diesel tech, but this is all new to me.

Just for your info, the bike has been dropped/laid over 2 times while riding it. But the 05 code did not appear till a couple weeks later when I stopped at a stop sign & went to take off.

I only get 16mph in PAS 5, or with the hand throttle. So I followed a couple procedures from Freego to check display settings & everything was in check.
So I've looked the wiring over & appears to be fine. There is a vid on my problem on the Freego F3 Pro Max problem thread.

My question is: How do I need to go about this to troubleshoot my problem? What & how can I check things over.

I'm not sure if these ebikes supply power from the brake levers or cut power to the brake levers for the controller function.

I got Fluke meters & amp clamps, test lights for testing equipment. Where & what needs checked?

Can someone offer some help or expertise on the issue.

Thanks any & all help will be great appreciated.
20231110_011349.jpg

Brake lever switches are normally open. When you pull the brake lever it closes the switch. You can troubleshoot the brake lever switches by just disconnecting them. The bike should run fine with them disconnected. If your problem is not related to programing, it sounds like a bad controller. Make sure your battery is in good condition, and the voltage is correct before changing any components.

Brake lever switches are normally open. When you pull the brake lever it closes the switch. You can troubleshoot the brake lever switches by just disconnecting them. The bike should run fine with them disconnected. If your problem is not related to programing, it sounds like a bad controller. Make sure your battery is in good condition, and the voltage is correct before changing any components.