Dual Battery DIY Tips

jetetting

Local time
11:28 AM
I'm thinking about adding a 52v Battery to my ebike, 20amp limited on it and rated for 30amps 1000w motor with hub sensor I'm just getting into this,
Need to know if I'll be getting better performance or just blowing up my controller ?

If its a 48v controller you will very likely be fine. A 48v battery is actually charged to 54.6v at 100%. A 52v battery is actually charged to 58.8v. So not much difference and the voltage will only exceed what a 48v pack produces for a short time anyway. Typically you can treat a 48v system as interchangeable with a 52v pack. There are some rare exceptions to this, but the manufacturer has to make a special effort to break the compatibility (Bafang did this with their displays, specifically to discourage aftermarket 52v packs).

You need to understand what you are going to get out of it, though. The benefit of going 52v on a 48v system is not that you are getting more power... voltage translates to top speed and you will only exceed 54.6v by a small margin. Yes you get more power but chances are you will need a speedometer to even notice the small difference. The real reason you do 52v on a 48v system is a 52v system will have a larger sweet spot of usability.

Charts can explain this a little better. Go here and open up separate windows on 52v and 48v.

On the charts, the second column from the left is "Usable Volts". At 100% charge, 48v is 14.5 volts versus 15.8. Usable Volts can be translated (sort of) into a gallon capacity for a car's gas tank. Figure you are going to be using power at a very similar rate for a 52v pack and a 48v pack (not quite but lets call it close enough for the purpose of understanding the issues involved). So the 52v pack gives you a bigger gas tank versus a 48v, assuming everything else is equal between two packs.