Hub motors: How much will they handle?

DieselTech

Local time
1:55 PM
Guys & gals I'm new to this ebike game. What kinda voltage & amperage will these hub motors handle? Say on a bafang G062 hub motor, at what voltage & amperage do they self destruct?

Can a hub motor that's powered at 48 volts & 30amps, be juiced to 52 or 72 volts at 45amps.

When do they start destroying sun gears & pinion gears? Thanks.

I've gone through several Bafang 750w motors. I run mine at 48v 30 amp. The most common problem I've had with just about every one of these motors is magnets coming loose. Easy and inexpensive to repair if you have the inclination, and tools.

I've gone through several Bafang 750w motors. I run mine at 48v 30 amp. The most common problem I've had with just about every one of these motors is magnets coming loose. Easy and inexpensive to repair if you have the inclination, and tools.
Do these numbers mean anything, other than its showing 48 volts. Thanks.
20231003_100311.jpg

Do these numbers mean anything, other than its showing 48 volts. Thanks. View attachment 11041
Looks like 48v 750w front wheel motor to me. That doesn't mean much though because manufacturers can order 750w motors with 500w magnet rings (RAD). The only way to know for sure is to open the motor, and look at the size of the magnet ring.

Looks like 48v 750w front wheel motor to me. That doesn't mean much though because manufacturers can order 750w motors with 500w magnet rings (RAD). The only way to know for sure is to open the motor, and look at the size of the magnet ring.
Can you or is there a video, showing the difference between the 2, once a motor is opened up. Does the 500watt magnet ring use a thinner ring of magnets? Thanks. I'm just trying to learn what I can.

Can you or is there a video, showing the difference between the 2, once a motor is opened up. Does the 500watt magnet ring use a thinner ring of magnets? Thanks. I'm just trying to learn what I can.