Ebikes Banned in Key Biscayne FLA After a Fatal Collision

Django

Local time
7:14 AM
A 12 year old boy on an e-bike collided with a woman on a bicycle. Sadly, the woman was killed. Two days later, there is a total ban there.

Please read the entire article before commenting. It sounds to me like they are throwing the baby with the bath water.

It’s tragic that someone died, but they should investigate it further and make some logical rules, like age and class appropriate rules.

Agreed. It is a 60-day temporary ban but it looks like most residents want a permanent ban. The council votes again in March. Very little detail is given about the actual circumstances of the accident, only saying that the police ruled the death accidental. One lonely resident opposing the ban stated the rider that died was not wearing a helmet. But, we don't know if she died of head injuries.

The article does not say what class the ebike that caused the accident was. I'm not an expert on how it works there in the U.S., so I don't know exactly if all 3 classes of ebikes can be ridden by anyone under the age of 12, without an insurance and/or a driving license. I will study the topic.

Also, the article mentions that the poor accident victim was not wearing a helmet. But it looks like a possible helmet wearing requirement is not in question... Nor a comprehensive study of the dangerousness of the phenomenon and the real causes of bicycle and ebike accidents.

I add that in my opinion legislative decisions requiring specific expertise such as safety should never be delegated to a small local community. First because they are easy prey to populism, local (political) interests and the moods of the moment - like in this case - and second because they would require the advice of competent people, which a small community cannot afford.