Which donor for ebike? 2016 Lapierre Froggy 26 or 2011 Transition Blindside

michielk

Local time
3:12 PM
Hello guys,

Long intro
My background is mostly some mild road biking, so I am new to MTB parts, especially suspension. I'm defiantly not a competitive rider, don't care about being the fastest, catching air or doing tricks, I just like to ride with friends, get some exercise and have some fun.

Our last ride was 40km with +/- 1,5km of elevation, mostly in woods, some single tracks and a few steep climbs/descents on different terrain (dirt, gravel, but big rock and root gardens as well).

Why Ebike?
I'm just not fit enough to climb a hill with a bike and enjoy it. Thanks the motor I'm now doing trails that I would not have attempted before. I enjoy building things myself, so when I found a good deal on a gently/slightly used 2016 Lapierre Froggy 26 (specs) I bought it and added the motor/battery myself.

It is a heavy bike, strong frame with long suspension travel (triple forks) and big brakes, so it is quite suited to turn into an ebike. It is stable, confortable and gives me a lot of confidence. It's downsides (heavy, hard to pedal uphill) are countered with the motor. Because of the slack geometry and triple fork it is hard to take a U-turn though when I miss the GPS instructions, but that hasn't been too much of an issue.

Situation now
For commuting to work I would like to build a speed pedelec ebike with a specific ebike frame (Qulbix for example). I would like to use a donor bike for the other parts (suspension (front, rear), wheels, brakes, handle bars, ..). The parts from my Lapierre would fit perfectly, but I like the bike so I am looking for another deal on a suitable donor bike (right size wheels, rear suspension, big brakes, triple fork). So far no luck, but I did run into a good deal on a nice bike. Unfortunately it does not have the right size rear suspension, so that leaves me a few options.