Replacement wheel and hub motor

Dave Ride1Up

Local time
11:38 AM
Hello. I'm new to the e-bike world and need some help. My son gave me a Ride1Up e-bike the he got when he bought a abandoned storage locker. It is one of their early edition Roadster Ghost models. For some reason the axle and hub motor spun in the frame and twisted the wire loom. The motor no longer powers the bike. I have spoken with Ride1Up and they no longer have parts for this bike. I'm told I need a 48V, 500W motor mounted on a single speed sprocket 26 inch wheel with a 9 pin cable. I've been searching the internet but can't find anything matching those specs. Does anyone have a recommendation where I might look for this item?

I have a similar issue, and am still waiting a reply. Seems like they keep changing connectors on these things or something. Plenty of possible, fully assembled, rear, direct drive wheels, both for what you are looking for, and what I need, but getting the bloody "pins" to match.... Worse, almost all the ones you can get are "conversion kits", unless you know someone that can rebuild the entire wheel for you. But then... as long as the number of wires is the same, you could always use the kit's connector, and just redo the connection to the controller already on the bike.

This is the thing that bugs me the most - I think the "designs" of the motors are fairly standard, i.e., same number of wires, etc., but they change the connectors, which royally messes with your ability to fix anything.

I hope we both get useful replies in the next few days.

Search AliExpress. If you hit a brick wall and can't find a complete wheel, simply get one made up from the various parts. Source a motor (make sure it's OLD matches your frame width, rim, spokes and get someone to lace it up if you aren't game to tackle that one. Good youtube videos on how to do it.