Problem with Bafang mid drive motor

Aaron

Local time
2:33 PM
Hi
I am new to this thread as well as ebikes and need some help please.
I am trying to build a plywood e-bike. I have bought a Bafang M400 mid drive motor and from a separate company a battery, display, and cables.
I have connected everything up (battery, speed sensor, display). It is a very cheap display that only shows battery level and power assist level. When I turn it on It shows a full battery and I can increase and decrease the assistance level, but there is absolutely no power from the motor. I have checked and rechecked the connections, how can I diagnose the problem. I have a multi meter but little electronic knowledge.
Thanks for reading and any answers

Hi Aaron, I'm throwing guesses out there. Troubleshooting this way is tough. I don't know anyrhing about the bafang M400. I'm assuming the battery is charged. Does it have a separate throttle, or is it a peddle assist only type of motor? Maybe the stock settings on your controller are messed up so the motor is never getting power to the wheels? Check out the videos on youtube about changing/modifying your controller settings. You will get some good info in those. I used the Speeed App to change the settings on mine, but you need an android phone for that App. I assume you're not seeing any error codes on the controller? Do you have pictures of your install? They should focus on how things are connected to each other.

Is your speed sensor functioning properly? Correct alignment of magnet? Red LED should flash.

From the sound of it, the display is a DZ40.

Is the DZ40 even compatible with the M400? It may not be and instead be meant for the BBSxx mid drives, which it for sure is designed to work with. I would find a display others have used with the M400, buy one of those and plug everything back in and see what happens.