New ebiker from SC

richmor

Local time
5:08 PM
My first ebike. An Aventon Soltera. Love everything about it but the tires. We ride a lot of dirt roads in campgrounds and those hard road tires just ain't gonna cut it. The plan is to take the factory 700x35 and replace with a 27.5x2.1. Would go to a 2.2 if I thought I could. Our current bikes have 2.125 and those work fine for us.
I'm interested in hearing others thoughts. I'm new to this and at 67 to old to learn a whole lot. Thanks

My first ebike. An Aventon Soltera. Love everything about it but the tires. We ride a lot of dirt roads in campgrounds and those hard road tires just ain't gonna cut it. The plan is to take the factory 700x35 and replace with a 27.5x2.1. Would go to a 2.2 if I thought I could. Our current bikes have 2.125 and those work fine for us.
I'm interested in hearing others thoughts. I'm new to this and at 67 to old to learn a whole lot. Thanks
Question, why did you buy the e bike you did? There are so many on the market with wheels and tires that meet your needs. The cost associated with changing the wheels and tires is going to be cost prohibitive IMHO. I suggest you sell the Aventon and buy a bike setup with the proper tires and wheels for your needs. Aventon makes several models that would meet your needs.

I like the Soltera. Nice size, colors, has all the range and speed I need, has a great list of features, all at a killer price. I couldn't find anything in that price range I liked as much. AND it weighs only 43 pounds. I can pick it up and put it on my current bike rack. Weight was and is an issue. I simply want a slightly larger contact patch on the road without adding 10 or 15 pounds. I will likely ride it as is for a while. But the bikes we ride now have 26.5x2.125 wide tires and that seems to be a nice compromise between weight and ride.