Is there something wrong with my Specialized Levo Hardtail ebike?

ebikenewbie

Local time
5:19 AM
Im a total newbie to ebikes, long time road and mountain biker though... I just bought a new 2020 Specialized Levo Hardtail and ive noticed something unusual, wanted to ask if this is what ebikes ride like.

Battery kicks in feels great, rode up a really steep hill no problem at all.

The problem comes when you are riding downhill or along the flat.. Ive noticed that i get to a certain speed (could be the 15mph the motor is supposed to max out at?) and then it suddenly feels like the motor is dragging or the brake is on. Really sticky and almost commical!

I had a bus behind me on a narrow bit of road and im trying to speed up to get to a clear bit and its just like peddaling against the front brake being on, or riding through thick mud.

As soon i stop peddaling and the speed comes down a bit the hold is released and it goes back to feeling like a normal bike and the motor kicks in as and when it should.

Is this how all ebikes feel if you speed past the motor top end? or is there something up with my motor?

The diagnostics say there is nothing wrong and the firmware is up to date!

Any help greatfully received!

Top speed is 20mph on the Levo unless you put a Planet3 on it.

So is that 20mph with the motor working with you?

Or do these bikes have a top out speed where you can't pedal past it? Seems a bit odd?

I would have thought the motor would have taken you up to the speed that it can and if the road allows it releases itself to allow you to pedal faster? Mine seems to want to hold me back.

Is this normal?

1st off, in USA cut off speed for a class 1 ebike is 20mph. If you live somewhere else then it’s most likely 15 mph.

Sometimes USA bike are sent with the wrong software loaded with the 15mph cut off. Then you’ll need to take it back to get the correct software loaded.