Himiway cruiser won't power down.

Jelj

New member
Joined
Mar 18, 2022
Messages
4
Points
3
I've got a cruiser with very little time and have issues of not being able to power down. All functions on the controller are frozen and have to disconnect the battery to power down. Any advice would be much appreciated.
 

pnwbiker

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2021
Messages
37
Points
8
Location
Oregon
Has it always had this issue or has this recently started? I'm assuming the power button on the display does not appear to be functioning - on a new bike this seems odd however tech is not infallable. Have you tried to contact Himiway?

To reset the display to factory settings; on my bike (March 2021 - KD51C-U, I believe the newer bikes are using the KD-51C, manual is basically the same - assuming the process is the same - YMMV);
Turn the display on with the power button
Press and hold the "-" and "i" keys simultaneously
The display will show dEF - n
Press "+" to change the "n" to "y"
Press "i" to confirm the change, the display will reset after a second or two (still powered, goes blank, then displays the default startup screen)

The manual says to press the + and I buttons, this does not work. There are many discrepancies like this, unfortunately some things get lost in the translation. HTH
 

Jelj

New member
Joined
Mar 18, 2022
Messages
4
Points
3
Thanks for the prompt reply. With 2 bars remaining on the batteries second ever charge that's when the problem started. I then charged back to a full battery and hadn't had an issue until I hit 2 bars again. Maybe coincidental I don't know. Yea I did talk to Hemiway initially and will get back in contact with them if the reset doesn't fix it. After the reset instructions you gave me I took it out for a spin and it shut down normally. Hopefully that was the ticket. I really appreciate it!
 

pnwbiker

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2021
Messages
37
Points
8
Location
Oregon
Thanks for the prompt reply. With 2 bars remaining on the batteries second ever charge that's when the problem started. I then charged back to a full battery and hadn't had an issue until I hit 2 bars again. Maybe coincidental I don't know. Yea I did talk to Hemiway initially and will get back in contact with them if the reset doesn't fix it. After the reset instructions you gave me I took it out for a spin and it shut down normally. Hopefully that was the ticket. I really appreciate it!
Glad it worked for you!

Interested to know if it does it again at 2 bars. I wonder if your computer is set to the right voltage - sometimes they ship set to 36v rather than 48v. Easy fix and probably not the problem, but never hurts to check. I do know that the battery indicator is all wonky when at this setting.

If you'd like a video - at the 1:45 mark it tells you how to check and set the default voltage on the bike. Shoutout to CitizenCycle.
Otherwise:
Press the "+" and "-" and POWER buttons together. The initial screen is the CURRENT voltage setting (s/b 48), it then shows 36 and shuts off. You just set your bike to 36v. Repeat to reset to 48v. You would NOT repeat this if the display shows 36 on the first screen. If i'm not being clear, this process shows the CURRENT voltage setting and then RESETS it to the second setting (either 36 or 48). Hope that makes sense. Perhaps the video is easier :LOL:
 

Jelj

New member
Joined
Mar 18, 2022
Messages
4
Points
3
Glad it worked for you!

Interested to know if it does it again at 2 bars. I wonder if your computer is set to the right voltage - sometimes they ship set to 36v rather than 48v. Easy fix and probably not the problem, but never hurts to check. I do know that the battery indicator is all wonky when at this setting.

If you'd like a video - at the 1:45 mark it tells you how to check and set the default voltage on the bike. Shoutout to CitizenCycle.
Otherwise:
Press the "+" and "-" and POWER buttons together. The initial screen is the CURRENT voltage setting (s/b 48), it then shows 36 and shuts off. You just set your bike to 36v. Repeat to reset to 48v. You would NOT repeat this if the display shows 36 on the first screen. If i'm not being clear, this process shows the CURRENT voltage setting and then RESETS it to the second setting (either 36 or 48). Hope that makes sense. Perhaps the video is easier :LOL:
 

Jelj

New member
Joined
Mar 18, 2022
Messages
4
Points
3
I did check the voltage and made sure it's set for 48 volts. I probably turned it on and off 5 times through the afternoon and never had a problem with it not shutting down. Maybe going back to the factory settings as you suggested yesterday did the trick. Really appreciate your help!
 
Top Bottom