Does less teeth equal more range? Also am I hurting my BBSHD

Deadbolt Don

Local time
8:27 PM
I think I have a decent knowledge of electrical projects. But I am new to ebikes in general but ended up with a BBSHD and a 52v/20AH on a Jamis full suspension. 46t front and 10 speed cassette with a 52-11 spread.
Few test rides and my first day commuting to work today. I end up asking myself questions while riding.
I have my pedal assist set around1,25,30,45,55,65,75,85,99 current - all set to 100% speed limit. Display is set to 99km/h- Throttle is set to PAS 9
Firstly, I am wondering if using a 44t or even 42t front would I get more range "overall"? I ask this while leading into the next question...
If I am in PAS 3-5ish I find the motor does limit itself via the gearing, shift gears and it is still easy to pedal (chance of clown pedaling) so if the speed is still increasing I keep shifting. Around 4-3 hard gears to go I "feel" me doing the work, so one would assume the output should drop but the gauge says it is drawing 300-650 w. I don't mind doing the work as the speed gets around 28-35km/h. Higher PAS modes will get through more gears.
Am I hurting anything pushing the bike after the motor stops being able to push the gear. Am I correct that this is going to make the best of my over all range.
By dropping to 44t or 42t I think I can make use of more top gears and that will also "theoretically" increase overall range if me pushing it doesn't do that better anyway.

I tried to drop to the 44t but after adjusting chain length. The chain jumps off the front chainring when I use the 3rd or 4th largest rear cog. I am sure this is due to the oversized rear 52t and cogs leading up to it.. as well as the derailleur extender (needed for the 52t) adding to the flex game.