Boosting performance (speed) by mounting a more powerful battery?

LongeLance

Local time
10:01 AM
Hi all,
I'm completely new to the World of e-bike so please forgive me if I ask some stupid questions. Or questions that have been asked before.... Anyway I've recently taken up commuting on a Trek Allant+ 9s. I'm very happy happy with the bike and the energy boost commuting in this way gives me. But the bike has a hard time reaching 45 km/h or even 40 km/h even in moderate wind conditions. I'm big and bulky from many years of physical activity so I understand and accept I represent a lot of wind resistance. But I'm still thinking of ways to improve the performance. One way might be replace the current 625 Wh battery with a more powerful one. I can mount a 750Wh on the bike. Might that be a solution? Will I have to do something with the bike electronics as well? Another ideas is to replace the crank with one that allows me to use a bigger sprocket. If I can find one sturdy enough. I cannot replace the cassette as the bike has internal gears in the rear hub. The sprocket there is the smallest one available. Any ideas and suggestions will be welcome..

Well, I found out myself. It won't help with another battery as the intended battery will simply not fit into the frame. Found out by referring to various data sheets.

I think you may need replace batteries and controller to achieve higher speeds.
For example, if your battery pack is 48v, get a 52v battery pack.
Higher voltage normally requires that you buy a new controller too.
Speed is expensive.

On the other hand, replacing the the controller, alone, may help by removing the stock speed limiters.

Improving acceleration is do-able.
Increasing top speed involves more factors, like gearing and electronic speed limiters in the stock controller.