Aventon Aventure

Mac415200

New member
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
1
Points
1
I just purchased an Aventon Aventure step thru, I love it. looking to see if anyone has disabled the speed limiter?
 

NCJenks

New member
Joined
Jul 8, 2021
Messages
2
Points
1
This video is for the Aventon 350 or 500. My wife has the Aventure step thru. This prescribed process doesn’t work on her bike. Any other recommendations?
 

HIMI-RICK

Active member
Joined
Jun 9, 2021
Messages
102
Points
28
Aventon ebikes can have the speed limit changed using the settings in the control panel and can be set as low as 14 MPH if desired to comply with local laws. You may find more information inside your owner’s manual. Aventon ebikes can also have the throttle unplugged and removed (but will continue to run on pedal assist) if desired in locations where throttle bikes are not permitted. The Rate of Acceleration cannot be changed. If you would like assistance, please contact our customer support team at https://www.aventon.com/pages/support.
 

BaneAt50

New member
Joined
Oct 3, 2021
Messages
3
Points
1
I just purchased an Aventon Aventure step thru, I love it. looking to see if anyone has disabled the speed limiter?
When I bought mine it was set at 20mph. I looked all over to figure out how to get it up the 28mph as advertised. To increase the speed you need to use the Aventon app. Hit the gears at the top and it has a speed limit option. I maxed it out and now I can get the 28mph.
 

Trixie_Delicious

New member
Joined
Nov 16, 2021
Messages
2
Points
1
This is an excellent, in-depth, comparison of an Aventure, a Himiway, and a RadWagon. Except for battery range, the Aventure tends to win in most every category. Plus they do real-world tests in the video and use a variety of riders too. Well worth watching!
 

Runar

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2022
Messages
1
Points
1
Aventon ebikes can have the speed limit changed using the settings in the control panel and can be set as low as 14 MPH if desired to comply with local laws. You may find more information inside your owner’s manual. Aventon ebikes can also have the throttle unplugged and removed (but will continue to run on pedal assist) if desired in locations where throttle bikes are not permitted. The Rate of Acceleration cannot be changed. If you would like assistance, please contact our customer support team at https://www.aventon.com/pages/support.

Hi
I'm in a lot of trouble. I bought aventon adventure electric bikes for me and aventon sinch for my wife electric and transported them from Florida to Reykjavík Iceland Europe, but then did not get them from customs in Iceland as they are registered at 20 miles per hour but according to the law in Iceland the maximum speed ebikes is 15.5 miles per hour (25 kmh.) in Iceland. Do you know if I can get some sort of document stating that the ebikes can only travel at15.5 miles per hour as allowed by local law in Iceland.
Best regards
Rúnar and Kristín.
 

Aventurer

New member
Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
3
Points
1
Aventon ebikes can have the speed limit changed using the settings in the control panel and can be set as low as 14 MPH if desired to comply with local laws. You may find more information inside your owner’s manual. Aventon ebikes can also have the throttle unplugged and removed (but will continue to run on pedal assist) if desired in locations where throttle bikes are not permitted. The Rate of Acceleration cannot be changed. If you would like assistance, please contact our customer support team at https://www.aventon.com/pages/support.
I think you may have hit on the key point! I like my new Aventure, but the lag from throttle on or start of peddle is WAY TO LONG! For the throttle it takes 3-4 seconds to feel the motor start to kick in. And it takes 1 1/2 rotations of the peddle to feel any assist. That may not sound like much, but it makes the bike feel sluggish and unresponsive. Is there anything that can be done to make my new bike more responsive? I’d consider changing out components if that’s what it would take. Or hacking into the sofeware. Thoughts…

Does it have to do with the crank sensor vs force sensor on other bikes?
Is it just the way the controller is programed?
Would a different throttle make a difference?
Am I expecting too much from this level of ebike?
 

Hoggdoc

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 5, 2021
Messages
485
Points
43
Location
Longview, WA.
Website
activityphoto.com
I think you may have hit on the key point! I like my new Aventure, but the lag from throttle on or start of peddle is WAY TO LONG! For the throttle it takes 3-4 seconds to feel the motor start to kick in. And it takes 1 1/2 rotations of the peddle to feel any assist. That may not sound like much, but it makes the bike feel sluggish and unresponsive. Is there anything that can be done to make my new bike more responsive? I’d consider changing out components if that’s what it would take. Or hacking into the sofeware. Thoughts…

Does it have to do with the crank sensor vs force sensor on other bikes?
Is it just the way the controller is programed?
Would a different throttle make a difference?
Am I expecting too much from this level of ebike?
Hopefully the company you bought the bike from could share how to adjust that using the display. I don't know why any manufacturer would ship a bike like that maybe it slipped through QC.
 

Aventurer

New member
Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
3
Points
1
Can anyone with an Aventon Aventure comment on their experience if your bike shows the same characteristics? I feel like this is just the way the bike is configured with a crank sensor vs a force sensor. And possibly the programming.
 

Hoggdoc

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 5, 2021
Messages
485
Points
43
Location
Longview, WA.
Website
activityphoto.com
Can anyone with an Aventon Aventure comment on their experience if your bike shows the same characteristics? I feel like this is just the way the bike is configured with a crank sensor vs a force sensor. And possibly the programming.
Have you contacted the MFG or the source where you purchased the bike? That would be my first place to look for help. I agree there is something wrong with the programming of the display/controller but unless the docs you got with the bike address these issues you will need to talk to the MFGs representatives.

I just checked YouTube and didn't find any video that addressed the actual programming using the display or the smartphone app, sorry. You really need to contact the company and pressure them for fix as what you explained is not correct for that bike.
 

Ripper

New member
Joined
May 29, 2022
Messages
1
Points
1
I agree the power lag is frustrating. You do get used to it but, I would be a much happier customer if the Initial starting AND the power levels at each step could be adjusted.
 

Astrotraveler

New member
Joined
Feb 19, 2022
Messages
27
Points
3
I think you may have hit on the key point! I like my new Aventure, but the lag from throttle on or start of peddle is WAY TO LONG! For the throttle it takes 3-4 seconds to feel the motor start to kick in. And it takes 1 1/2 rotations of the peddle to feel any assist. That may not sound like much, but it makes the bike feel sluggish and unresponsive. Is there anything that can be done to make my new bike more responsive? I’d consider changing out components if that’s what it would take. Or hacking into the sofeware. Thoughts…

Does it have to do with the crank sensor vs force sensor on other bikes?
Is it just the way the controller is programed?
Would a different throttle make a difference?
Am I expecting too much from this level of ebike?
Sure. Be sure you're starting from a stop in the proper gear. Downshift to an easier gear when you come to a stop or park the bike after a ride. That way you can easily move the bike on human power by pedaling for the 1.x crank arm rotation for the hub motor to get triggered and add boost.
 

bobeast

New member
Joined
Jul 29, 2022
Messages
1
Points
1
This video is for the Aventon 350 or 500. My wife has the Aventure step thru. This prescribed process doesn’t work on her bike. Any other recommendations?
For the Aventure, the setting is in the smartphone app which has to be paired with the bike display. Pretty straight forward from there.
 
Top Bottom